Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Bingo: Good to be home

Sometimes the day doesn't go according to plan. My intention was to leave Margaret River by around 10:30 and head for Perth (270km drive) but as my adult son was feeling poorly this morning this didn't eventuate. Instead I spent the morning watering the garden, passing unsolicited comments to my partner about how he should empty the fish pond (which happens to be an old bath), and tidying up. It was a nasty hot and humid day and by 2pm I was losing motivation for the long drive. I was also thinking that, if I was going to have time to do some photography in Perth, then now was the time to go. I woke Tom and asked if he was up to travelling and he managed to rally some energy and so we headed off.

Around 40 km from Perth the traffic on the freeway we were travelling along almost came to a standstill due to a fire some distance off. There were helicopters busily flying to and from a watering station to the fire and there was I, moving at less than 5km per hour, with some potentially good photographs presenting around me but no opportunity to take advantage as I was driving and it wasn't possible to pull off to the side of the road. 25km from Perth and the freeway was closed to traffic because the visibility was inhibited by the thick smoke, but also to allow free access for emergency vehicles. We were sent off the Freeway into unknown territory and I joined the ranks of other baffled drivers and followed the car in front. This meant that there was a constant stream of traffic going down streets to nowhere and having to back track. Meanwhile the Fuel gauge was flashing!!!! (Next time I WILL fill up in Bunbury.) Sometime later we managed to reconnect with the Freeway, gather speed, and arrive home some 60 minutes later than we had estimated and still with a litre or two of fuel.

Now what does all this preamble have to do with my photo. Well, I was too tired and it was too late to head out to take the photo I had planned for blipfoto. I was sitting on a seat outside resting and feeling disappointed that I was going to miss a day. I looked towards the house and thought that it is good to be home. Bingo, that will be my photo and I will use my iPhone as it is in my hand already, and I won't miss the 29th December post.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.