Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

A better class of weed

I have a narrow strip of garden across the front of my house which, because the road is on a slope and the house is raised above it, is effectively a raised bed, supported by a brick wall.  I mainly have small bushy plants in it, and this year the space between the bushes has started to be taken over by a rather better class of weed; strawberries!  I have no idea how they got there; perhaps the seeds were dropped by birds or maybe somebody passing by threw a strawberry in, but either way, they are starting to take over the bare ground.  I'm happy to leave them to it, especially as they are themselves proving to be a good ground cover, so hopefully suppressing any other weeds that try to get in.

One strawberry so far, not yet ripe, but plenty of blossoms so with a bit of luck I'll get a few edible ones soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.