Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

After the deluge...

It's hard to believe this is the same place as had many inches of rain fall on it in a major deluge just two days ago. Today the grass is dry enough to sit on and we're all enjoying the sunshine, it was over 19' this afternoon.
I think this is one of my favourite views across Edinburgh, from Inverleith Park. The city is looking lovely today with people relaxing, children playing, a painting group and lots of chatting. No music playing either so I could hear the birds, bliss.
After taking the service this morning I went home and after lunch, C decided to go and get rid of more debris from A's house on a day when the tip was likely to be quiet. I opted for a walk and ended up walking down and around the Botanics, again, lovely and peaceful. I acted on Flumgummery's advice and popped in to see the plant which they have nicknamed 'New Reekie', (Amorphophallus Titanum or Titan Arum....extra) which unusually for its species is flowering for the third time. It is standing at over 280cm high and yet just a month ago it was under a metre tall and you'd have walked past it without noticing. Its flower is expected to collapse any day now so it's proving a very lucrative attraction for its few days of life.
I left the Botanics and treated myself to a 99 cone. Yummy, the ice cream van outside the Botanics was doing good business and he's always so cheery.
I would have had a cuppa at the Terrace Cafe in the Gardens and sat for a while reading my book, but they had reduced the servery there to just one till open and everybody was ordering complicated coffees which took forever. So I gave up.
The place was really busy at 3.30, lots of families meeting up after school. Very short sighted I thought. I have to say, I actually prefer a simple filter or instant coffee made with either hot or cold milk, to the more complicated Italian espresso style, but that is practically imposcsible to get one's hands on these days - Starbucks do it and for a reasonable price too, but I don't usually go to Starbucks!
C came and picked me up after his tip runs and we came back and pottered and sat in the garden. I'm not very good at sitting when things need to be done though so I ended up tieing up some beans and doing some weeding and dead heading.
Most enjoyable, I love having a garden, especially when it's sunny.
19189 steps, target met this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.