flavia13

By flavia13

PIEL ISLAND

Took the macro lens back to Ulverston today and have ordered a brand new one.  It has something to do with the motor and obviously not all are compatible.  The one I originally bought would work but only on manual focus - I do like to have the option to be able to do both.  Anyway no problem. new one ordered and should be in tomorrow.

No news on the laptop, but I guess that will be next week before i hear anything *sigh* - boy is this one slow - but at least it works.

Now onto to a lovely day and some positivity, due to kindness.

I took G to Roa Island, with the intention of just looking, taking photos and having lunch.  The ferry was there with the ferryman.  G said he'd like to give it a try, so with a little bit of help and kindness of strangers, we got him on board.  

At last I've made it to Piel Island.  We had a very slow walk around some of the ruins - G can only do so much.   As soon as he started to walk a bit to the left (a sure sign the dizzyness is coming on) we went straight back to the pub.  Well I ssay straight back - it takes him a while with lots of stops but we managed it.  I hadn't put on any sun screen unfortunately and could feel myself burning.  I did had a large hat though.  

I just got a little burnt in the end, keeping myself shaded as much as I could.  It got somewhat too hot at lunch time - but the pub was lovely and cool, so we stayed inside.  We only had a light lunch but the food was surprisingly good.  I say that because I was expecting it not to be I think, but I was impressed.

I'll go back again on a cooler day and explore more of the island.

All in all a lovely day out.  G is somewhat exhausted now but pleased that he managed to do it.  Just shows that with the kindness of others you can achieve things you thought wouldn't be possible.

Piel Island
Piel Castle
KingofPiel

There will be a crowning ceremony on 6th July i believe.

The King wasn't in residence today but his daughter was.  It's a strange story, worth a read.

I hope you've all had a good day.  I didn't get chance to look at your blips yesterday so I will try and do some catching up tonight.
Thank you for looking and reading. 

Take care see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.