Rodents rule

By squirk

Let sleeping peregrines be

The peregrines were all up on the roof this evening. I love that the parent bird is asleep. The other parent, I think (I'm not completely sure which are the juveniles), was at the other side of the steeple. Every so often two or three of the birds would take off and screech after one another.

I said goodbye to Fred this morning and now he's up in Northumberland. I chatted to him as he was tucked up in his tent, with the not-distant-enough yapping of a Jack Russell in the background. I hope he gets a good night's sleep. He's cycling for a few days before heading up to Inverness. In this way, the train ticket isn't so extortionate (he can break it into smaller journeys). Now that the sleeper trains are up the spout (much rolling of eyes) and summer is in full swing, the transport costs to Inverness are extremely steep. The weather's good for cycling, though, and he's not in a rush.

Juno's keeping me company and had a bit of my fish from my fish supper this evening. My local chippy was happy for the £5 note I gave him as part  of my payment for dinner. He bemoaned the lack of such notes due to people not bothering with anything smaller than £10 notes these days. This is one place that won't be installing a card reader any time soon – he's dead against them as he will lose money through the charges they incur. I've never thought of paying for fish and chips by card!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.