WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

You did what??

Stand by for more crappy blips due to lack of mobility. Back home today. I was assisted in Cork airport by an extremely taciturn staff member who was clearly not Irish given his lack of conversational skills. But he whizzed me efficiently through bag drop and security in about five minutes, after which I had a long wait for the flight.

Incredibly noisy flight due to the presence of about 100 children ... it must be school holidays in Ireland. We went out to the plane in light drizzle, temperature maybe 16C. In Carcassonne there was not a cloud to be seen, temperature 35C and more than that on the tarmac. The landing was so bumpy that all 100 children (and some of the adults) screamed. 

The assistance guy here was very vigilant in ensuring I didn't fall down the steps off the aircraft. But he delivered me to passport control and told me he wasn't allowed to go any further. Slight problem since I had a checked bag to collect. I staggered out (hopping not possible) bowed under the weight of my rucksack and phoned S, who barged through the "No entry" door to pick it up.

And home! Phew. Feet up. Mystère not impressed, but he has already graced my lap with his presence. He can't understand why we have decided to live in the spare room on the ground floor. We've had aperos of white wine and a dinner of an excellent salad and prune and armagnac tart, courtesy of S.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.