17 today!

That is Henry, not me (I wish!) My baby is now almost a man. Where did those years go?

I had planned today in advance, and taken the day off work. So we had a lie in, then Jon and I went shopping. At midday, we packed up a picnic, and drove to Great Yarmouth. We haven’t been for a few years now, and never to the horse races there. It only took an hour, and a scenic drive from ours. It was easy to find, and free to park. We are our picnic, then wanderer in to the stadium where we bought a race card and set about planning our afternoon. We never normally gamble beyond a few 2ps at the arcades, but it was to be a fun day out so I gave everyone £10 in £1 coins.

Clearly after 3 races, the luck was on Mollie’s side. I think she had been betting £1 each way on her horses, and won on each of those races netting about £19. I think it was the 4th race where we were willing Henry to get a winner. He upped his stakes and put £2 on to win and 10/1, and at last he went away with a fairly big win and I felt happy! The next race, my horse placed and I won £5.50 and again in the last race my 2nd place got me £3. It could have been worse! Jon failed in his bid to find a winner but the kids joined forces in the last two races, pooling their money and getting winners. I think Henry went home with nearly £29 and Mollie about £24, (I didn’t ask for my £10 back!!) in all a successful day at the races!

We wandered in to Yarmouth which was really quite dead - disappointing for a Friday night in the summer. We ate in a Wetherspoons then popped into an arcade to spend some 2ps - only £2.

Got home about 9 and surprised Henry with a birthday cake with a very warm 17 candles!

They are now watching a film, but I’m in bed. I can’t take the pace!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.