Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Portrait in the snow...

Well, firstly, thank you so very much for sending my woodpecker flying into the Spotlight today! Your comments, stars, and hearts are very much appreciated.

Photographing these kinds of birds in flight is very challenging to me and something I plan to spend some time on over the next few months. Which is my way of saying "expect to see wings." :) In fact, I've given myself a little challenge to photograph birds in flight every day for the next week. Which you would not know from looking at today's blip, would you? I just couldn't resist blipping Mrs. Cardinal, with fresh snow on her beak and a devilish glint in her eye. I did take a few handfuls of other pictures that I liked today, all posted in a public FB album HERE. And, yes, there are a couple of birds-in-flight as well as a few pictures of the red-bellied woodpecker taken today. I was actually going to post the shot of him showing some 'tude to the mourning dove, but decided on this one instead.

It started snowing around 10 this morning and the snow is still coming down now at 5 pm. I'd guess that we have 4 or 5 inches of snow, on top of the 4 or so that we already had from a few days ago. It's just beautiful. The Bistro was packed all day - there must have been 50 or so winter sparrows as well as at least 10 cardinals, one grackle, a mockingbird, several blue jays, titmice, chickadees, doves, three species of woodpeckers, 30 or so finches, one redpoll, and a partridge in a pear tree squirrel. Hubs worked in the garage while I took a gaziillion pictures from the warmth of the living room. Yes, all of today's shots were taken from inside, through my squeaky-clean windows! It was too cold and snowy to tromp around outside with a camera.

Well, can you believe that there are only two days left of 2012??? And is it me, or do the years fly by now? Wow.

xxoo
Debbi and the gang at Snowy Tallyho

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.