Peony

It was sunny for a couple of hours this morning, and then the rain moved in. It rather suited my mood, as I was finally able to access Tom's labs last evening, and they hadn't changed from pre-chemo values, so the chemo appears not to be helping anymore. We'll know what the next step in treatment will be after he sees the MD at his next appointment. And then my sister called early this afternoon. Her son (my nephew I photographed at the bike race on Friday)  was in a terrible car accident last night--all they know right now is that his car went off the road & rolled over several times--& he was taken to a hospital in Sheboygan and then transferred to Froedtert Hospital here in Milwaukee, which has a top notch trauma center. My sister & b-i-l  didn't even know he'd been in an accident until 7:30 this morning when a social worker called them. When they got to the hospital he was awake, in a lot of pain, could move all his extremities, and has no idea what happened.  No one at the hospital could tell them what had happened either, as the only info they'd received from the first hosp. was about his condition & just that it had been a car accident. Then a nurse came in & said my nephew was being taken into surgery, as he had a cervical fracture & they're putting a rod in his neck to stabilize it. He's been in the operating room for 2 1/2 hours--they'd estimated about 4 - 4 1/2 total hours for the surgery, so we're all waiting to hear any more news. I'm going to turn my comments off for a bit--I'm already behind with them & don't want to make it worse, plus  right now I've got a need to be with my family, which I know you all understand.    :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.