I'm Going On An Adventure . . . Bilbo Baggins . .

Day 6

Another breakfast, clean up, make sure nothing is left behind, load up and drive to Hobbiton.  This was one tour I did do with the visitors because I have never done it.  I found it enchanting and so did they.  Lunch in the cafe and on the road to Auckland Airport.  Don't get me started on the Southern Motorway.  Driving into Denver Airport is a walk in the park compared to the chaos I experienced.  It was a hurried goodbye to the visitors who would depart on the 14 hour flight to Houston. We retreated to the petrol station down the road for a coffee and a regroup before entering the chaos of the motorway system again.  Crazy I know but the plan was to drive back to Taupo.  The rental van the forester was driving was due back at it's depot by 5.00pm Friday.  After Tokoroa there was more fog and my hands and wrists were starting to ache with gripping the steering wheel so hard.  Just before midnight we pulled up at our friends house.  She had kept the fire going and once again it was collapse into bed.  Never have I been so glad to stop driving.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.