MikeWest

By MikeWest

Blown Off Course

A violent squall blew through late in the day with dark skies and very strong winds causing temperatures to fall dramatically from the afternoon high. Fortunately it didn't last too long and the air was fresh by the time I ventured out to try photographing the Penstemon wildflowers again.

When I approached the meadow, a flurry of feathers startled me as the young owl flew a short distance ahead of me. The chick landed on the ground initially and I stayed at a distance excited to get some shots of it. After a while s/he flew up into this small hawthorn and kept still for me a long time, despite being continually harassed by the blackbird.

It appeared tired, perhaps disorientated by the weather event, squawking occasionally and was answered by a nearby sibling which I couldn't locate.

The bird did not appear stressed by my presence, but I decided to withdraw quietly back the way I came.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.