BRITANNIA

The Mono Monday theme today is PATRIOTIC.  I remembered I had a special Britannia £2 coin which I figured would make a suitable blip. Thanks to Carolina for hosting

650,000 of these 2015 dated Britannia £2 coins were circulated making it one of the most scarce UK £2 coins ever produced. Britannia is an enduring symbol of national identity which  reinforces the sense of shared purpose and history for Britons.

The Romans created a goddess of Britannia, wearing a Centurion helmet and toga. In the Victorian period, when the British Empire was rapidly expanding, this was altered to include her brandishing a trident and a shield with the British flag on, a perfect patriotic representation of the nation’s militarism.

I checked whether my coin was worth big money but unfortunately the "going rate " on ebay is only £4.99

Musical link RULE BRITANNIA

“Rule Britannia!
Britannia rule the waves
Britons never, never, never shall be slaves".


Usual Monday for me - Fitness Class this afternoon and Slimming Club this evening.  Lost ½ pound.  Not many stayed behind after weigh in and there wasn't a great lot of food for " Taster Night" - but what there was was very tasty.

Back to yesterday - my night at the theatre to seeThe West End Bhangra Musical.  My ticket said " Doors Open 5.30pm.  Start Time 7pm."  However when I arrived at 6.45pm the doors to the auditorioum were closed even though there were lots of people milling around.  The doors finally opened at 7.05pm. No explanation.  Th theatre started filling up gradually.  No sign of the show beginning.  I wondered if I had the time wrong but my ticket definitely said 7pm start.  Anyway the show started at 7.45pm.  Such a waste of time just sitting there doing nothing.

The first part of the show lasted 1hr 40 mins and consisted of a short set by a group of local dancers and then two longer sets by singers/musicians.  In between every song the performers left the stage and then film footage appeared at the back of the stage of the performers talking about their career/songs etc.  The sound quality was very poor during this part of the show and I struggled to hear what was being said.  A lot of it was spoken in Indian anyway.  The overall sound during the show was VERY loud. Too loud for me - I was in the 3rd row.

So we had an interval of 30 mins starting at 9.25pm.  Then the second part of the show was due to last 1 hr 20 mins meaning a finish time of around 11.15pm at the earliest.  By this time my last bus would have gone. 

I wasn't sure what to do.  Stay till the end, miss the bus and have to pay for a taxi?.  Try and find a spare seat near the back on the end of a row so I could sneak out early.?  Or leave during the interval and head straight home?.  I chose to leave during the interval.  I would have stayed for the second part if I had been enjoying the show more.  It was OK but I wasn't really the " target audience " and I found the music all sounded a bit the same.  Worth going just to see something different though. Just wish it had started earlier.

Steps today - 13,528

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.