The caves!

This is all wrong - can you see any caves? But I like it. And anyone who knows me, appreciates that I like a picture with a story, rather than a pretty picture. 

And talking about pretty pictures, how about Extra 1- Glenariff, the Queen of the Glens, as seen from the Glenariff Forest Park. Today we travelled a few of the Glens of Antrim, and they all lead down to the sea - stunning.

But my blip is different. We set off this morning along the Causeway Coastal Route in the opposite direction from yesterday, and what a fabulous drive it is. After a few mini-adventures and diversions, including finding the most wonderful bakehouse where they make all their own sourdough bread and you can watch them making it and you can get perfect coffee and cakes, we arrived at the delightful village of Cushendun, right by the sea. What a lovely place. We wandered by the sea and by the river, had a picnic and then went to . . . the caves. 

What caves! Well apparently anyone who has watched 'Game of Thrones' will know by now what I am referring to. If I had climbed up or even gone inside a bit closer I would apparently have seen 'the caves' - where some scenes from 'Game of Thrones' were filmed. There were two reasons why I didn't include the caves - one I have never seen the series (although Gordon has and did explore the caves), two by the time I realised there were caves, there were so people - straight off a 'Game of Thrones Tour' coach. I retreated and sat by the sea and took some boring, but enchanting, sea views - see Extra 2. The outline across the water is Scotland, the Mull of Kintyre. 

The blip is also wrong because there is so much geology involved in it, but I cannot remember what I have been told so cannot enlighten anyone - something to do with conglomerates and stacks perhaps.

So - this is my blip . . . just because I love this coastline and we have had a great day.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.