The Conclusion........

    Yesterday, an owl was found, being attacked by over a dozen crows.  After several phone calls and messages left, the owl was put in a box and brought over to my porch.   Over the next several hours I checked on the bird.
     In the middle of the afternoon,  the Owl Rescue of Ocala called me back, identified the bird as a Bard Owl, and very, very old.  The rescue felt the bird was dying of old age, explained the life cycle of owls, and how to make this old fellow/girl comfortable.  The rescue person answered my questions about disease, (nothing to be worried about) and said he would be by later to see how things were doing.  Before he arrived, when I checked the bird, it's head was down, on the bottom of the box.  It had gone into what I thought was a coma  and then quietly expired.  Dying is a process.  The organs slowly shut down, the coma ensues, and then death happens.  
     I was glad the fellow was peaceful and quiet.  It never opened it's eyes again.  The rescue person took the box, I thanked him for his help and the whole experience was finished.
    I am really glad I eased the wild bird's passing rather than letting it be torn from limb to limb by the crows.   Nature is amazing......    sometimes ruthless and sometimes kind.   My post today is a sketch of the bird while it still could stand and watch me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.