A Birthday Rose for Len

Yesterday, while inspecting the gardens for unwanted plants (weeds), I came across this beautiful variegated rose nestling inside the fuschia bush. Len told me he'd bought the plant 2-3 years ago. It has finally flowered, and has the most wonderful fragrance.

Today is Len's birthday. I never know what to buy for him but I always like to take a special photo for the event. So I plucked his rose. It deserved a photo, and though it might have been happier flowering in the garden, at least the memory of it may be longer standing.

I'd had a broken night with a hacking cough which I attribute to inflammation of the windpipe brought about by hay fever. Salbutamol helps but does not subdue it entirely. At Judy's I'd felt quite unwell after the drive to Leicester. I called in at the pharmacy on the way home. The pharmacist recommended Robitussin for a chesty cough. It does seem to calm things down a bit, as does a spot of blackcurrant cassis.

Therefore I let Basil down this evening. I'd promised him he could come with me to Bradgate Park where the camera club were meeting. Instead, I went to bed. 

USA have just won the Women's World Football Cup semi final against England.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.