MikeWest

By MikeWest

A Watchful Eye

I sat down for a while, not all that happy about the photos I had taken of plants, pondering what I might look for next. All of a sudden I became aware of the ducks, perhaps their movement caught my eye, and knowing how skittish they usually are, tried to hold back my excitement. Moving slowly forward behind the cover of some reeds, I crouched down and surreptitiously tried a few shots.

Surprisingly they seemed to be comfortable with my presence, so I watched them feeding on surface weeds for a while, taking occasional shots. Hoping they would move into a clear patch to give me an unobstructed view, I did not dare move too much.

In the end I quite liked the sense of hidden observation created by the blurred foreground. I would have preferred my longer lens, but I didn't crop this too much and most of it is soft focus anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.