Scorcher!

It was the hottest day of the year today!  I believe it got to about 34C (93F) here. I spent a lot of time in the garden, doing some paperwork but staying in the shade. By 3pm I pretty much lose all shade in the garden and it was just too hot to be outside.

At that point the only place to stay cool is in my darkened front lounge. But I had another plan! I decided to go to the cinema where I could enjoy a movie and their air conditioning!  I decided to see the movie ‘Yesterday’. I enjoyed it very much - highly recommend!  

It was still very warm when I got out at about 630. I made a snap decision to go for a walk on the way home as I drove right by one of my favourite parks. There was a pleasant breeze and I was able to stay mostly in the shade along the perimeter. I had many lovely walks and picnics with Dolly here and I missed her!  She would have HATED this hot weather, though. I did a bit of plane spotting as I walked. I sometimes use my FlightRadar24 app to see who’s flying overhead. I think the plane in the picture is a British Airways flight coming in from Tel Aviv. 

I had a late dinner when I got home - actually cooked something on the BBQ. I was treated to a colourful sunset as I watered the flowers at about 9pm. It was STILL hot!  I stayed in the garden on my swing until way past 11 o’clock and it was still about 28C (82F). I had set up my inflatable bed in my conservatory for LAST night and I was particularly glad tonight to not have to sleep upstairs where it was still SO hot. I enjoyed a cool nights sleep with the door to the garden wide open. Almost camping!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.