Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Mum, When I grow up!

Out really early, though still after sunrise.  I've been monitoring a small herd of red deer that hang around not far from home.  They'll often be found in this field.  I wish I'd had a longer lens, but made do and used what little field craft I had to get a bit closer.  

I thought I'd been really quiet, using natural cover afforded by the hedge line, walking a long a small track that runs along side the field.  When I came into an area where I could see the deer, they were already aware of my presence, heads up, staring in my direction.  It wouldn't be smell; I was downwind of them, anyway I'd had a wash!  I can only think their acute hearing had warned them of my presence despite being as quiet as I could.  

I managed a few shots from distance then they retreated to the far end of the field, joining others to make up a group of a dozen or more.  The stags antlers are growing a pace, but none were near enough to record.  I had to smile at the young deer, who was only just able to look over the crop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.