Above the Crowd

I checked the weather and the "chance of thunderstorms" was predicted for late tonight, so with my husband off to a ballgame I loaded up the gear into the car at about 6:00 pm to head out to the sunflower fields.  The sky was blue with a few clouds until I pulled into the parking lot and then I could see the beginning of some dark clouds moving in.  By the time I got the gear out and walked out to the fields, it turned very dark and threatening and I could hear thunder.  There were plenty of people there, a few photographers and lots of "selfie-takers."   I only had time to get a few shots off when the wind whipped up and it became clear to me that I should hightail it back to the car. I just made it. I waited a while in the car because the weather alerts said it would be over by 7 but it was quickly revised to 8 pm so I headed home, enduring dreadful driving conditions. In fact, it continued to rain until after 10 pm.

The sunflowers are mostly well over 5 feet tall except for this outlier which must be 6 feet or more and is different in that there is a clump of flowers while all the others are a single stalk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.