MonoMonday: Unexpected Reflection

You'll probably laugh when you read this.

I mentioned to my Editor this morning that the MonoMonday challenge today is "Unexpected Reflection(s)". We mulled over it and at lunchtime she said, "Why not photograph the reflected colours in a soap bubble? - you wouldn't really expect to get all the colours that you see in them". I agreed and we set to work - she blew the bubbles and I photographed the colours glistening in the sunlight in the garden, forgetting that today was MONO Monday! Then she remembered...and kindly pointed out our error. Whoops!   ;-)

However, good fortune was with us. When I looked at some of the photos on the computer I noticed something very unexpected. There was a reflection of our house in the bubble (not really unexpected) on the right side of the bubble (and it was the right way up - you can also just make out me standing with my camera), but on the left side there was another reflection of the house upside down - with my inverted Editor too. We didn't expect that!

I assume that the right-way-up reflection comes from the outer surface of the bubble (acting as a convex mirror) and the upside-down reflection comes from the opposite, inner surface of the bubble - acting as a concave mirror and therefore producing an inverted image.

So many thanks to blipper Carolina for hosting such a fun and interesting challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.