Keswick, plus Castlerigg stones

After breakfast we set out in the car for Ambleside initially, just for diesel, then on to Keswick where we planned to spend the day. We arrived at about 11.30 and set about finding a place for our coffee. Through the town we headed down towards the lake - Derwent Water, where we found a cafe. That done, we walked through some lovely gardens, to the lake, and wandered along for a short distance. A few people were hiring boats, but the season is just at its start. I imagine in 3 more weeks it will be very busy.

Back up to the town we had a browse in shops, and bought pasties for lunch. Lots more browsing, and a few purchases. At 5 we went back to the car did a food shop in Booths, before driving up to Castlerigg Stone circle. Situated up into the hills a bit, this stone circle is 4500 years old. We all took lots of photos, as it is such an impressive location. Quite a few people doing the same, so very difficult to get a picture without people. See my extra. My best effort. I liked this one though, with mountains in the background.

We are now back in Ambleside, waiting for a Chinese takeaway. I'm feeling off colour - headachy and nauseous, so think it's a migraine. I'm going to bed when we get home, but I'm sure the others will enjoy the Chinese.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.