Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Taking a hike

Even though I won't be hiking or walking for over 2 months, I found something today that will get me out on the trail...the Appalachian Trail.

Most of my Facebook ads that show up on the newsfeed are about hiking and the outdoors (because FB knows what I like!)   Today there was an ad for a YouTube video for Boorah, trail name for Tony Cobb, a 52 year old Michigan man who is thru hiking the Appalachian Trail from George to Maine... 2190 miles.  He started on April 1 in Georgia and hopes to complete the hike in six months.   The first video I watched had him being excited about this tree..as I would have been.  Then he had some  of the trail also which happened to be somewhere in North Carolina. I was hooked when I saw the tree!!    After watching several of the videos I found him to be a very kindred spirit.  He loves rocks, trees, bugs, flowers, rivers and waterfalls.  He is very excited to see anything in Nature and appears to be grateful for the beauty that is in Nature.  At one point he saw a bud of the pink rhododendren and mentioned that he wished he could do a time lapse video of it as he knew it would be great.  I have only watched about ten days as I started back at the beginning but I can see that this will keep me "in the woods" while sitting right here at home with my broken ankle.  

Apparently he is using a selfie stick to take the videos with his phone and when he can, he downloads them to a friend who edits and keeps up with posting them on the YouTube channel.     Most are only 12 -20 minutes.    I love that he is huffing and puffing as he walks or climbs as it really makes someone who has huffed and puffed on the trail feel like they are there!!     I love that he mentions his grandchildren when he finds something that he knows they might be interested in.  He carries a tiny stuffed tiger in his backpack.  

These are some crappy shots of the screen of the tablet while I was watching the video so not the best collage but it shows the tree and the mountains.  

I am thankful (for once) that Facebook posts ads on my newsfeed or I would never have found  something like this to pass the time during my healing.   

A grocery store outing this morning and the farmers market.  It was so hot and humid I was glad to get back home in the cool air.    Fours weeks today since I broke the ankle..four weeks to get the cast off.         Doing more around the house,  exercising the arms and the legs (leg lifts with a heavy cast has got to be good exercise) and doing some creative stuff.    It is all good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.