A Pleasing Arrangement of Lilies and Pads

I was on campus for an afternoon event, and so I passed by the lily pond twice, once on my way to, and once on my way from. It was raining the first time, and maybe you won't believe this, but the lily pond was even prettier in the rain.

I liked this arrangement of lilies and pads. It seemed like its own little society. A tiny city unto itself, perhaps. Very self-contained. Somehow I just liked the way it looked. I guess mostly, I liked its shape, which was quite organic, almost like a magic carpet.

The colors were already good but I added a little bit of darkness to make the colors pop. Isn't it funny how darkness can help reveal the fierce beauty of a thing? I must remember that. . . .

A soundtrack song for lilies: Stevie Nicks, with Rock a Little (Go Ahead Lily).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.