MikeWest

By MikeWest

Stretch Marks

We had a confer taken out over the winter because it was leaning over with the weight of the snow and threatening to fall on another tree. Looking at the stump now I can see the impact that pressure was having on the internal structure of the trunk. It's hard to imagine the forces at work in complex natural forms as this.

I was attracted to this as an image by the textures first, and then the colours, principally the warm tones. As I explore it further I see the greens, whites and grays. Also it's about the shape - a sort of shamrock outline. I couldn't decide whether to include all of the curves, including irrelevant uninteresting surroundings, and eventually plumped for cutting them off, feeling that the minds eye would fill in the remainder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.