Coniston Old Man - definitely a mountain

Today we climbed to the top of this MOUNTAIN - The Old Man of Coniston. I don't care if other people call it a hill, this really was a mountain. We climbed through all weathers, and took nearly 3 hours. We were in the clouds at the peak, and it was by far the most difficult thing I've ever done!! So I for one, feel proud of myself! As before I was at the back the whole way, with the other 4 periodically stopping to wait for me to catch up. Bracken bounded on ahead for most of the way, then even he began to tire, and as we scrambled the last bit using our hands to steady ourselves, I was amazed how he negotiated the uneven rocks. We passed through old disused Copper Mining works, which were interesting. It was blowing a gale at the top and visibility was poor due to the cloud, but on the way back down my rain coat was dried by the wind and then sun. It took us another hour to climb down - which was hard on the knees! We were starving and got to our car and drove to the cafe by the lake where we ordered burgers chips and a nice cup of tea!! Then struggled to move, but eventually drove back to Hawkshead where we all crashed out!

Jon woke me at 7...as we have a date with Spiderman. So we are now sitting in a little cinema in Ambleside, waiting for the film to start. A relaxing end to a very energetic day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.