Birdies At The 4th

These ducklings and proud Mum were nestling in the long grass at the edge of Beak House pond in front of the 4th green; unfortunately, so was my ball and, by the time I'd hacked it out and eventually got it in the hole, I'd taken 8 shots for the second hole in a row and begun to think it wasn't my day.

Miraculously, in the perverse ways of the golfing gods, from then on I suddenly started playing better than I ever have, playing the last 14 holes in just 7 over par and breaking 40 for the back 9 for the first time I can remember. I didn't manage any birdies but did get a fair number of pars. I don't expect it to happen again any time soon.

In even better news, the pro had heard that the chap who was taken ill during Tuesday's round had thankfully pulled through and, after a few days of treatment in hospital, it is hoped he'll be out and back on his feet soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.