If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

68 Years!

An unusual day!  The elderly Lady between Kanyl and myself is cousin Alma.  It is 68 years since I last met her.  Uncle John lived in B;ackpool which for us in rural Cumbria before the days of everyone having a car might as well have been a foreign country.  They visted when I was five and for various reasons including Uncle John's death not again.

As a young woman Alma visited Sicily on holiday.  To cut a long story short fell in love emmigrated and married.  It is 24 years since she was last in the country and for reasons I can;t remember Kanyl met up Clickychick and I didn't.

So when we were told she was in Blackpool for a week with one of her daughters Alessandra a meet up was a must.  Unfortunately CC had to deal with the Lodge so Kanyl and I made the trip.  After a very pleasant lunch we wandered out into the open area outside St John's church.  The blip was taken by balancing the camera on a flat topped litter bin and using the timer.  The funny part of the day was Alessandra having to say (regularly) "Inglese Mamma" when Alma addressed us in Italian.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.