Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Derelict...

I don't normally take these kinds of photos, but when I saw this decrepit old cement mixer sitting in an abandoned farm field recently, I made a note to myself that I really wanted to get some photos of it before it ends up in a scrap yard somewhere.  So when I headed to the gym today, I  put the D600 and my 28-300 lens in the car.  And after a arduous 55 minutes on the treadmill, I swung into the farm and got my shots.  

I did a little faffing in LR on this, mostly to boost the shadows and clarity.  In truth, it didn't need much.  Light conditions were perfect and camera settings were okay.  I think this is the first time I've ever tagged anything for the Derelict Sunday challenge.  Many thanks to 60Plus for hosting.  

Had a really long chat with my parents this morning - as usual, they've been squeezing every bit of fun out of every day lately.  Role models in every way. 

Hubs and partner are having a good day at the track with the racecar.  Seems that there are still some problems with the fuel line (or something) that they are going to need to work on when the car is back in the garage, but at least they are both getting some good time on the track and testing out everything that needs to be tested.  

My first Monarch caterpillar pupated into his chrysalis form this morning.  Five more little guys are munching away in the nursery.  And I saw another female leaving eggs all over the milkweed patches this morning.  It is still my plan to let nature take it's course, but we'll see how well I stick to that.  

Happy Sunday.

xo
Debbi


On Depression...Different people experience different "symptoms" but for me, it got to a point where every day felt like a herculean effort.  All I wanted to do was crawl into bed and close the drapes, so staying up and functional felt like I was carrying a huge boulder around on my shoulders.  The funny thing is/was that I would describe myself as a happy person, someone who is generally positive.  So you can imagine how bizarre it was for me to have these kinds of feelings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.