Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Garden-fresh Eggs

It's been a couple of days since the first monarch showed up in my garden, leaving behind a few perfect oval eggs on the milkweed.  Today, when I was out pottering, I spotted a big lady Monarch fluttering around the milkweed patch, so I grabbed the 300 lens and shot down to the garden.  I was in time to watch her carefully depositing eggs on, of all things, the seed pods of my common milkweed.  That's a first.  What you see here is her actually depositing the egg, curling her abdomen under her.  

In the process of trying to follow her around the milkweed to get my shot, I lost my footing on a rocky ledge in the garden.  Luckily, I kept a firm grip on the camera, but will probably be sporting a big bruise on my bottom along with a mildly twisted left ankle and a bit of a stiff neck.  But, the camera gear is safe!

I had a heart-racing moment this morning when I was busy taking some macro shots of long-legged flies on the patio.  I stood up from taking the shots, turned around, and saw a very large black bear directly across the patio from me - maybe 20-25 feet, tops.  I kept my wits about me, and loudly yelled "Go" which encouraged him to lumber off the patio and meander into the woods while I made my graceful exit up the stairs and into the house.  Definitely a male (the rear view confirmed that) and a large one, at least 300 pounds if I had to guess.  Took my heart a few minutes to resume a normal beat.

Stayed close to home today as there was lots of see in the yard.  Also spent some time setting up the first monarch enclosure which currently houses about a dozen eggs on milkweed cuttings.  With luck, there will a dozen tiny little cats in a few more days.  And so, the 2018 Monarch Chronicles begin.

Keeping a close watch on MIL still.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.