Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Perplexing...

I found one of these interesting bumble bees in the garden last week and spent some time trying to figure out what it was.  Turns out that it is Bombus Perplexus, which seems an apt name.  Unlike our more common Eastern Bumble Bee, this species is covered with golden hair all the way through the abdominal segments, making it a very pretty pollinator.

I have found another mystery bumble bee in the garden, too - this one very small.  I haven't gotten a good shot of it, nor have I taken time to identify it, although it's small size should help.  Later.

Busy day starting with a blood draw, then gym, then to a doctor's appointment with SIL.  And in between, a number of sorties through the pollinator garden which is always totally fun for me.  Sounds like there is a nest of cardinals somewhere in the shrubby vegetation next to the garden - it's nice to hear those little peeps while I focus on all the little creatures in the garden.

Very glad I stopped to take some shots of the cement truck yesterday as - surprise - it was gone today!  The farmer who was on that land for years lost his lease this year so he is having to remove some 15 years worth of "stuff", among them that ancient, decrepit, captivating cement truck.  

Planning to meet up with my nature group tomorrow, although it's going to be hot, hot, hot.  

Also planning a return trip to Costa Rica next year - very excited about that!

xo
Debbi


On Depression...It's worth mentioning that there is no "one size fits all" solution/treatment for depression.  In my case, a pharmaceutical solution has worked very well.  Twice in the last 13 years I've stopped medication (always with doctor's supervision) and both times the depression has returned within a few months.  But that is just me.  Some people do very well with cognitive behavioral (talk) therapy.  I think my message to anyone who has depression is that you may have to try a few different things to find the one that works for you - but life can be SO much better!  It's worth the effort, really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.