Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Pollinating

I love this time of year, when our garden is abuzz with pollinators.  I am especially fond of bumble bees because they just quietly go about their business, paying no mind to inquisitive photographers.  Most of the workers have no ability to sting, so there is nothing to fear from them.  This particular bumble bee caught my attention because he isn't my usual Common Eastern Bumble bee (Bombus impatiens).  Instead, I believe he is Bombus Perplexus (the Perplexing Bumble bee)  I am waiting for a confirmation on my id and will update this if necessary.

Another hot day, so I have scampered out only for short sorties in the garden.  This afternoon, Hubs and I are going shopping.  Yes, we are going to voluntarily enter a store (masked, of course).  You may wonder why?  Or maybe not, but I'm going to tell you anyway.  Since our 20th anniversary is coming up in about six weeks, Hubs thought it would be fun to buy ourselves two kayaks as a present from us to us.  When he told me about it, I was over the so delighted.  I've not kayaked a lot, but have enjoyed it - there is a sense of peacefulness being out on the water. We have no interest in shooting the rapids, so will look for "beginner" kayaks that are stable and suitable for quiet lakes and very slow moving rivers.  So, this afternoon we will go to a place that sells kayaks and educate ourselves.  

We were hoping to get the RV out for a trip this week, but the campground we wanted to stay at is booked; however, we've booked it for our anniversary which will be nice.  I may still see if we can get into another place next week.  Kind of feeling like we need a change of scenery.  

The news continues to be stressful.  This virus is so far away from being under control and it is hard to see when or if we will ever return to "normal".  I think we must prepare for a new normal, whatever that might look like.

As always, take care to stay safe.  Be kind, be loving.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.