A Micro Burst.......

Yesterday started out as usual......   a beautiful morning and walk, gradual heat increase over the day and the usual afternoon thunderstorms were predicted....
   Then............ a severe weather warning was beeped over the TV, the phone.    The usual warnings were jumped to severe, high winds, and rain.    Hmmmmm.....   pretty normal Florida weather.  Our thunderstorms can be really hot.

   The lightning was close, the lights all flickered or stayed out for 10 or 15 seconds.  The booms were loud, rattling, causing me to jump in my chair.  Then came more booms and torrential rain....  I couldn't see across the street.  Then the wind hit,   maybe 10 seconds later.  The rain was going sideways,  I saw a flagpole ripped off a villa and carried down the street in the air.  Branches flew by,  there was a roar to the wind, like a high pitched  zing.....  
This wind and rain lasted for about 5 minutes, the streets were flooded and running down to the drains which were flooding up and over to the grass areas.  I saw the water backing up my driveway.  The girls were moving between my legs and barking at all the noise.  I grabbed the girls, moved away from the windows and door, attached leashes and sat down to wait for whatever was going to happen or pass us by.
It was a really stunning 10 minutes!

I went out this morning for my regular walk with the girls.  The storm had left as quickly as it hit.  I heard on the Channel 20 weather station that the thunderstorms had reached unprecedented highs in the atmosphere yesterday.  This caused the lightning to be closer to the ground and fiercer, causing the weather.  It was described as very dangerous conditions.
    The girls and I found the teams of maintenance men out with trucks, chainsaws, blowers and crews, every wheres.  I was able to get a few pictures of the trash, debris, and clogged drains with branches, etc.
I have never experienced one of those weather situations before, and I don't care to do it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.