One of Over 4,000 Myrtles.........

Did you know there are over 4,000 varieties of Crepe Myrtles?
I didn't.......     When at the BYOT last weekend, I asked if this tree was a Cherry Dazzle, a Myrtle.  At the time it was full of buds.  David told me that a Dazzle has many colored buds and flowers.  This tree only had red buds.  So, no.....   not a Dazle.  He then told me how many species or varieties of the Myrtle there are.  
     WOW!  who would a thought?

 The tree came  home and was trimmed to taper this morning.  It looks bare and spindly,  because this is the time of year to trim hard, then allowing the tree to grow wild over the summer, which the tree will love.  I would like to collect the top of the tree....  it's beginning to get all and spindly.  The trunk needs thickening, so I have left it alone.  Next February or March, the tree will be repotted and then trimmed tighter, shorter.  That will be the beginning of the styling of this rascal.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.