Dorothy

Professor Dorothy Atkinson, one of the founders of the Social History of Learning Disability Research Group. The group celebrated its 25th anniversary conference today and what a terrific day on the theme of Belonging and Not Belonging. Lyn and I were the last speakers of the day. People were very kind.

Dorothy retired from the OU in 2010. She was Professor of Learning Disability and in that role was instrumental in writing groundbreaking short courses and modules. Some were written with and studied by mixed groups of self advocates and people who do not have a learning disability. When I first went to work at the OU I was utterly star struck to have as colleagues people such as Dorothy whose books I'd read and studied. She is the most modest person whose work has been seminal in advancing inclusive research. She has always been kindness itself to me.

Back at the hotel for what I hope will be a happy though very short meeting with Emsie. Then back to the campus for a posher than usual conference dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.