Sunny Barn

I've been fiddling around with things today. I received a new trapeze tailpiece for a very old archtop acoustic guitar whose original tailpiece had rusted through. It was never an expensive guitar even when it was new, probably in the fifties or sixties. I've had it since about 1974 and the only thing I can say about it is that it looks pretty. I thought I'd like do some bottleneck slide guitar at the Blues Week I'm planning to attend next month but I realised I didn't have a guitar that's suitable for that kind of playing. It really needs heavy strings and a high action to get the right sort of feel. Now I've got the new tailpiece on I think it'll do the job fineI've ordered some new heavy strings to complete the job. It's just a question of whether I can master the technique now.

After that we took a spare fridge we keep downstairs to a friend who are doing a lot of entertaining this weekend and need it for chilling drinks. Their son is over from New Zealand where he lives and recently got married. He's here to celebrate with his UK friends and family. We'll be going to the event on Saturday night with a ceilidh and a band playing. 

Once an early mist lifted it's been a beautiful day so around 7 I went out to look for a blip. I walked down to this dutch barn in Lindridge and took a few shots. 

I've added an extra of the lunar partial eclipse that I took at 21.48 BST It's highly cropped because I chose to take it with my f2.8 200 mm lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.