An Old Guitar ...

... is all he can afford. That's Guitar George in a quote from 'Sultans of Swing' (Knopfler, 1977). 

I mentioned this guitar in yesterday's journal entry when I said I'd fitted a new trapeze bridge. Today when I tried to tune it one of the tuner buttons broke. I'd already repaired one and I decided enough was enough and it had to have new machine heads. I looked on line to see if I could get some the same. Although the same type are available, they're unlikely to fit quite the same so I looked in my store of guitar parts and found a set I thought would do the the job. It took a fair bit of work to get them fitted and looking tidy but it's the sort of thing I enjoy doing. I think it's a good job and they're certainly a bit easier to use than the previous 50 year old ones. I cleaned the neck and worked lots of lemon oil into the old rosewood fingerboard. 

It's an Eko which is Italian made and was never an expensive item. Earlier in the year it was going to go to Cuba, where they have so little but they're very good at fixing up old things and it would have been used in a school so that young musicians have instruments to learn on. I'd said to the organiser of the collection that it could go. Unfortunately I had a cold and didn't go to the Thursday jam for a week or two and missed the pickup for the container that was being shipped out.

They say that one man's junk is another man's treasure and 'Treasure' is the theme for Wideangle Wednesday (hosted by BobsBlips). I think this bit of junk has been transformed into a treasure or at least given it a new life. 

It does look pretty!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.