Centenary Stones

The day didn't look good as far as the weather's concerned. It had rained a little overnight and it seemed there might be a break until about 11 o'clock. I set off for a walk about 8.30 and went down to the landing stages and followed the path round the lake as far as Calfclose Bay, which is where these stones are. People seem to have taken the idea of adding piles of stacked pebbles to the surrounding area. I resisted the urge to kick them all over (except for the one that was in the line of my shot). 

They were placed there in 1995 to celebrate 100 years of the National Trust in the Lake District so that makes them 25 now. Line of sight takes you past the stones to the jaws of Borrowdale, which you can see looming out of the mist in my blip. The mist and drizzle has taken much of the colour from the scene so it made sense to convert it to black and white. They remind me of a miniature version of Split Apple Rock in Tasman Abel, New Zealand.

I turned around at that point and wandered back to the site. By the time I got back to the van the drizzle was turning into more persistent rain which continued into the afternoon.

By the time it was 4 o'clock I wanted to stretch my legs and the rain seemed to have slackened. I walked into town and took the path from the bridge towards Portinscale. It was fairly dull but the sun was trying to break through and it was a pleasant walk. At Portinscale I continued along the river Derwent for a while then retraced my steps and walked into the village.

I've added a couple of extras. The first is entitled, 'Where Geese May Safely Graze' and the second shows the light trying to break through by a weir on the river.

It's raining again now and seems we'll have more tomorrow. Might be some light by the middle of the afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.