New to me

I spotted these plants with wonderfully tiny white florets on cone-shaped stems at Central Market.  Of course they were not marked.  But I asked at the floral counter and learned that they are Lysimachia clethroides, of the variety "Lady Jane."  I think the name is very apt - they look elegant and ladylike to me.  A less fancy name for this plant is loosestrife, and it is part of the Primrose family.  Apparently it's very rare and produces few seeds. If I had a garden, I think I would plant them.

Otherwise a quiet day, partly spent trying to soothe Minkelina.  Something is up with her - she's doing a lot of incessant very loud meowing, which is not like her usual style.  But whether she's experiencing some pain or is just turning into an ornery old cat, I can't tell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.