madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Expensive Drama

First thing in the morning I contacted a new vet which had been highly recommended by several people. Little did I know how soon I would be using their services!
Oscar loves taking my socks, he runs off with them then comes back to me whimpering to say " Look what I've got mum!" I then have to pull it out of his mouth! I've learnt to hide them from him! So I knew when I came out of the shower to discover one of my socks was missing that he had snuck in and stolen one. But it wasn't in his mouth, not in the back yard, nor in any of the downstairs rooms. I began to panic. They were long over the knee socks  that I had worn in the evening under my dress when we had gone for our last walk at bedtime. I had also spilt the oil from a can of tuna on one of them when I had given him his breakfast. Could he have eaten my sock? Surely not. It was way too long. So I searched again. In the pots, behind the pots, between the pots, up in the foliage. I then searched the rooms again and even the washing machine because by now I was second guessing whether they had been in the bathroom, even though the other one was still there. It was not anywhere so the only place it could be was in his tummy! I phoned the vets in quite a state and they said come on in! I checked the back lane in case somehow he had thrown it over the wall, it wasn't there. Maybe a rook had stolen it because it smelt of fish! I had a quick stop at the Dr's to hand in my stool sample and then to the vets. All the way I was catastrophising the situation. He would have to be cut open, he would refuse to enter this vets ever again, I wouldn't be able to go to Port Eliot, maybe they could castrate him at the same time?
Well they didn't have to do that, instead it was an injection to make him sick - which he was - copiously! The 3 Amigos were most concerned for poor Oscar and insisted on being near him! The vet  told me about all the things dogs ate and had to have sicked up - chocolate oranges, slug pellets, bits of plastic, a grandmothers medication. The worst was of having to have 3 dogs treated as they didn't know which one had eaten the offending item! Once Oscar had finished throwing up and no sock had appeared the 3 Amigos decided to check out Rowan as he came over faint as he was  so traumatised by the experience! 
I was told to give Oscar nothing to eat or drink till the evening as he would just sick it up! He could have ice cubes! I walked him along the country lane where he threw up 4 more times and then lay down, the drug had made him very drowsy! I managed to get him in the car and then went to pay. £120!!!! But at least I had peace of mind and he had his eye checked and no ulcer or conjuntivits remaining!
On the way back to the car the 3 Amigos spotted these delightful dogs and had to stop to say hello! From left to right Alfie, Darcey, Milly and Molly! The husband was giving them their worming tablets through the cage and wouldn't you know he dropped one and it went down the drain! Luckily I checked the drain and spotted it caught on a spiders web so reached down and rescued it! 
Ivy's owner called me in the afternoon to see how he was as I'd phoned him to say we wouldn't be making the playdate. Apparently Ivy had sat looking at the gate for 20 minutes waiting for Oscar to appear! The rest of the day Oscar slept and I kept hunting for the sock in the back yard!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.