FLOWER FRIDAY - MR. HCB'S PRIDE AND JOY!

It was lovely to hear the rain on the window this morning, but as I didn’t have any reason to get up and my knees have been quite sore lately, I decided to stay in bed - and in fact, although Mr. HCB got up just after 6 am, as usual, I went back to sleep and didn’t surface until 10.45 and must admit, I feel better for it.

It was still raining slightly but after having my shower, and still wearing my pink robe, I decided to go out into the garden because I had an idea for the Agapanthus, which is actually Mr. HCB’s pride and joy.  

He has nurtured this Agapanthus for almost five years and has been coming indoors over the past couple of weeks telling me excitedly how many flowerheads were on it - and at the last count, there were ten!  I thought, as the buds were at different stages, that it would be good to take a shot of each stage and make it into a collage, which I have done - all these shots are SOOC.

Mr. HCB hasn’t seen the finished collage, as he has gone off with his cricket buddy, Keith, to the final game of the week at Cheltenham, despite the heavy rain.  They had arranged to park the car and then walk into Cheltenham to buy fish and chips, and he knew that Keith would still be eager to go, even if it was raining so as it was a later start today, off he went just before 11 a.m.  

We have a “tracking app” on our car, so I can see that they have arrived in Cheltenham, but it took over an hour, but that could be because of the Air Tattoo traffic - not very good weather for flying or cricket today!  However, I have just rung him to find out the “state of play” and he says although it has rained, the pavements are dry, and they were just walking back to the ground to eat their fish and chips!

I am having a restful day and do not intend doing any housework - but am going to sit and read or knit all day, or I might even watch a film - I just hope they do play cricket, so I can have more time on my own.  It’s not looking good weather-wise for tomorrow either, but they won’t be going to cricket again until Monday and according to the BBC Weather app, it looks as if it will be sunny then.  Hope you all have a great weekend, whatever you are doing.

The extra is especially for Green56 and Evolybab - a mixture of the Sweet Pea seeds they both sent me. "Here Come the Girls" from Green56 and some unnamed ones from Evolybab; when it stops raining I will go out and pick them so that I can enjoy them on my kitchen windowsill.

“I am in awe of flowers; 
     not because of their colors, 
          but because even though they 
               have dirt in their roots, 
                    they still grow. 
They still bloom.”
D. Antoinette Foy

P.S.  Interestingly, I saw Darryl, the Local Studies Librarian in town yesterday, when he asked about my Street Challenge that was now on the local radio.  He told me that although he doesn't look every day, he often "pops in" to read my Blips.  He commented on what a wonderful community it seems to be, with positive comments on my Blips - which he felt was so good in this day and age.  I told him he was quite right - it's a great community!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.