SILLY SATURDAY - THAT BLIPPING WOMAN AGAIN!

I had to go back to Leightons, our opticians, today not only to collect my new glasses but also to have further tests done on my eyes. 

First of all I saw Kate when she fitted my new glasses, adjusted them slightly and then I asked if, before I saw Raman, I could borrow a pair of sunglasses and the bowler hat for my Silly Saturday Blip. I had asked her this earlier in the week so she was expecting it! 

If you are wondering about the banana, it’s just another quirky piece of advertising but it made things even sillier - and Kate was kind enough to find some sellotape to ensure it stayed in place on the hat - and thankfully, at the time, there weren’t too many customers! 

Next I saw Raman, the Optometrist, when he asked my permission to put ”stingy” drops in both my eyes to enable him to see the insides of them more easily.  He explained that he would take more photographs when my pupils were fully dilated but as it would take about half an hour for the drops to “do their stuff”, we could either sit in the waiting area or go out for a wander, which we decided to do. 

All the tests have now been completed and thankfully there is nothing seriously wrong.  The cataracts are still growing  - an age-related thing according to Raman - so until they are ready to be removed, I just have to live with them.  We are now back home and I’m waiting for the effects of the drops to wear off, which should take 3-4 hours. 

I know I’ve said it before, but we do love all the staff at our Opticians!  They are so kind and helpful and even provided Mr. HCB with a cup of coffee whilst he was waiting and when all the shenanigans were going on.  Where else would they put up with my strange request to wear a hat with a banana stuck on it, as well as an expensive pair of special golfing sunglasses, (which for golfers, apparently, make the greens stand out more - who knew?) for a Silly Saturday Blip? In the words of the song - ”You’re simply the best - better than all the rest” - and I’m so glad that you are happy to pander to my silly requests for the sake of a Blip selfie!

“With life as short as
     the flutter of an eyelash,
why would you want to fill your sight
     with anything but the 
          extraordinary?”
Anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.