misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

FF Daylily in Diploid Form

Blooming in the full heat of our heatwave, this daylily is loving the weather
Someone has been working on dallies to become double (diploid).
This plant has quadrupled in the past two years and is a showstopper right out by my mailbox.
Unusual form.
Also unusual is the surprising and record-breaking heatwave that has come upon us.
At noon in my house, everything closed: drapes on the windows, fan going, and later on when the sun moves over to the west/southwest some a/c. 
I can't believe how fast the heat is increasing hourly! From 76ºF to 94ºF (34ºC) in 3 hours.
And hot! It's exceptionally hot and bright when the sun shone in the house even at 7:00 a.m.
With the heat & humidity Index we are predicted to go to a record-breaking  110ºF tomorrow!! And I want to drive out to a sale on birdseed at a garden center. 50% off of everything in the store!
I have only experienced this kind of heat in Iowa during a drought. And India while waiting for the monsoon. Never in Central NY state in the mountains!  People start whimpering at 85º. 
We are getting our share of 'Global Warming', I guess.
Regarding the fallen willow leaves from yesterday. Several Blippers  reported that their leaves are falling unexpectedly too even though enough rain seems to have fallen.
Strange changing times...

No problem about the heat. Actually, I am quite comfortable sitting here blipping away.


PostScript:
Out of curiosity I went back to my Journal entry a year ago (Love Blip for the record keeping it offers). On 20 July I posted two of these blooming daylilies for Flower Friday! And the weather report says:

"Nice summer days here with cool nights and moderate sunny days. Perfect summer."

So, what happened??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.