Not so Perfect ....

….. Day at Coco Cay.
 
We left the port of Nassau last night whilst we were still at the wedding reception.  And woke up today at Royal Caribbean’s private island …. Coco Cay.  They tout this at the “Perfect Day at Coco Cay” but it didn’t start out that way! 

We had breakfast in the main dining room this morning …. it was our first time having breakfast in this dining room.  It was pretty good but I think I like the Windjammer buffet a little better. I had ordered the Eggs Benedict but the eggs weren’t hot by the time it was brought to our table.  I’m sure I could have requested something else but we wanted to get an early start to our “perfect day”!

After breakfast we put on our swimsuits and disembarked to Coco Cay!  Once on the island we took the shuttle around to the other side and found a nice beach ….. our plan was to do some snorkeling.  We set our towels and other things up in some shaded chairs and headed for the water.  Snorkeling is one of our favorite ocean activities!  But almost as soon as I was in the water I felt some stinging sensations on my left wrist!  I didn’t think much of it at first but the stinging feeling got worse and worse.  Richard got out the water and found a lifeguard to see if he could help.  By this time I had worked my way into really shallow water and the lifeguard came up to me …. I was a little embarrassed.  I was helped out of the water and then the lifeguard sprayed my wrist with vinegar …. apparently this helps with neutralizing the stinging.  We then tried to find the first aid station but had a hard time finding it! Eventually we found it and the nurse sprayed my wrist again with vinegar, put on gauze and wrapped it with a self-stick ace bandage.  I was pretty much over the snorkeling by this point but I told Richard he could go back out if he wanted. We found another beach and he went out while I laid in the shade.  And enjoyed the amazing island dancers see here! When he came back on shore he convinced me to go back out snorkeling for a while.  This beach was nicer than the first and I enjoyed myself more here.  And no more stings!

We made our way back on board around 3:00 p.m. as I needed to check us in for our flight home tomorrow.  After taking a shower to wash all the salt water out of my hair we simply relaxed in our stateroom until dinner time.  We have reservations for an amazing water show after dinner so we felt a little rushed during dinner.   But we still enjoyed the delicious meal and great company.

The water show was fantastic!  And afterward we were able to witness the most spectacular sunset so far …. see extra.  We also met up with Dave, Michele, Rachel and some others for the final time on the cruise.
This first ever cruise has been a lot of fun but with the ship being so huge combined with the fact that you can’t communicate via text messaging it’s been hard finding our family members!  But the up side to the large ship is that at any given time you have no idea that you are even moving!  You just don't feel it! 


Home tomorrow ….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.