Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Monday in London

Julie and I had such a full day today that I was too late and tired to blip at bedtime!

We started at the V&A for the much praised Christian Dior exhibition. It is amazing. Jaw droppingly fabulous. (Droppingly appears not to be a word, but I’m sure you know what I mean!)

Julie is a little older than me and can remember the New Look when it came in. I looked at the tiny waists of the models and knew I would never have been the right shape for this fashion.

The designers who followed Dior are all represented in the exhibition as is the work of the ateliers. (There is a whole room of the cotton garments made as a pattern for the actual dresses.)

In places there is footage of Dior collections and my image shows a still from one with the dress modelled in front.

The Mary Quant exhibition looked a bit dowdy in comparison to the Dior. (See extra) I remember when her clothes hit the high street.

We had a lovely walk through the park to the Grande Royale Hotel for a champagne tea with an old friend of Julie’s.

Then a siesta in the hotel before a trip to the West End for Tennessee Williams’ play, The Night of the Iguana, in the Noel Coward theatre. It was very long and I thought the production lacked something. It was hard to feel connected to any of the characters and the angst was unrelenting. Perhaps it was a Monday evening performance! Despite that, I love theatre in London.

And so to bed before my last day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.