Crossing the Border

It is a very long time since I last took a train to the West Country, but today we did just that, avoiding the usual heavy traffic on the M25 and M4 and the 5 mile tailbacks on the A30 which we heard about this evening.  The train is so much more relaxing, with the opportunity to read (or sleep), refreshments served at our seat, and some great views of the British countryside through the window. This view is the scene in Plymouth as we crossed from Devon into Cornwall.

During the journey I started to read "On Photography" by Susan Sontag, a book I've been meaning to read for years. It is an interesting study of the purpose, meaning and impact of photography since its invention.  I was taken by one statement in her first essay:  "Time eventually positions  most photographs, even the most amateurish, at the level of art."  I am therefore encouraged that, in a few decades, my humble blips may be changing hands for thousands of pouinds.

Today's blip, and those for the next few days, are posted after my return home as the internet at our hotel fell far short of the standards I have become used to even in less developed countries and was unable to upload my pictures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.