Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Spectacular Pageantry and Performances

La Fête des Vignerons was absolutely FABULOUS! It was well worth the price of the tickets, and much more!
We were all so pleased to have gone and experience this wonderful show. Calling it a simple wine festival would be undermining the sheer beauty of two and a half hours of story-telling. The costumes were incredible, the dancing and singing just beautiful.  There were 5.500 people taking part, including children, and 850 chorus singers and some beautiful solos.

My favourite song (which always brings tears to my eyes) is 'le ranz des vaches'. Here is one interpretation of a Swiss herdsman:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e0xAw2oXhJY
The arena, which you can see in extras, can hold 20.000 spectators.
Was it hot? Incredibly so. Everyone wore hats or caps and protected necks and arms from the beating sun. Girls were coming round spraying people with water to keep them fresh!  I had my own water spray and two big bottles of water and some dried fruit and nuts.

It was the most wonderful thing I've ever seen and I'll never forget it!

Here is the official site of the whole show in case you would like to look:
https://www.fetedesvignerons.ch/categorie-media/photos/

I took over 90 photos, but these two give you an idea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.