Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Happy Hump Day

I'm getting my blip in with about 10 minutes to spare  20 minutes late which isn't setting the best example as the host of a new challenge.  Most of the morning was spent trying to get my mother oriented and calling in to the agency to see if anyone could come immediately.  I couldn't leave her alone and I really had to leave.

I had what I thought was going to be my last physical therapy session for my left shoulder so I brought some bubbles with me.  I spent the first 10 minutes playing.  My therapist didn't seem all too excited about my exploits but Angela, one of the PT assistants (and the other patients), thought it was fun. Smiles all around.  Despite the lousy composition, I chose this photo of her because of the sheer childish joy on her face.  I put my other favorite as an extra. 

So glad I was able to squeeze smiles into the middle of the day.  The rest of it was spent taking my mother to a new pulmonologist, this one at the University of Arizona Medical Center.  There's nothing to be done to help her lungs other than to make some tweaks to her oxygen.  No more tests or medications.  He was very kind and talked to her about how she wanted to die, peacefully or possibly prolonged and on machines. We collectively decided it was time for her to fill out a DNR (do not resuscitate) form. Hopefully, she's not going to pass away anytime soon but it's inevitable; as it is for us all.

Anyway, thanks to the folks who participated in the very first Happy Hump Day. I loved that a couple people put jokes in at the end of their write-ups.  Extra chuckles for me and mom when we got home.

A quickie that reminds me of my Grandma:

How do you get four old ladies to say the F 
word?

Have the fifth one say.... BINGO!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.