Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Baby Cactus

I saw this wee cholla cactus and thought it might be cool for Tiny Tuesday.  This is a challenge I rarely enter, mainly because I'm not much of a macro photographer.  I do admire blippers who get awesome close ups of colorful dragonflies and such.  We don't have many bugs like that around.  More like scorpions and tarantulas.  As old cholla die, new ones tend to grow spontaneously.  Thanks to Osuzanna for hosting.

Mom was completely disoriented when I got home shortly after the caregiver left.  I would have been home sooner but I was waiting for her prescription to be filled at Safeway.  I had a weird feeling about her state of mind while I was out so I thought I would buy her a couple of things to make her feel better.  She was crying when I got home but the "I Love You" balloon on a stick, card, stuffed toy and a huge chunk of carrot cake  (and plenty of hugs) calmed her down.  I believe she's been wobbly and more confused not so much because of the Alzheimer's.  I believe  that she's been suffering from dehydration..  

We had a decent thunderstorm last night but only 0.11 inches of rain.  After the lights flickered a couple of times I "power outage proofed" the house, especially making sure I had ice and food in a cooler so we wouldn't have to open the fridge/freezer. Vail, which isn't far from here and where Carolina's daughter lives, got hit really  hard.  They should have power restored by 10:30 tonight, 24+ hours later.

Sorry for the ramble.  Hope you had join in the first Happy Hump Day on Wednesday (Tag: HHD0723).  

Enjoy the joke.  It made me crack up:

A father buys a lie detector that makes a loud beep whenever somebody lies around it. The son comes home in the afternoon. Father asks him, “So, you were at school today, right?”

Son: “Yeah.”

Detector: “Beep.“

Son: “OK, OK, I was in a cinema.”

Detector: “Beep.”

Son: “Alright, I went for a beer with my friends.”

Father: “What?! At your age, I wouldn’t touch alcohol!“

Detector: “Beep.”

Mother laughs: “Ha ha ha, well, he really is your son!”

Detector: “Beep.”




 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.