Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Vice Versa

The "zin" you might expect me to be expressing upon seeing this photo could be gluttony...the abusive consumption of food or drink.  You would be wrong.  I'm actually going to let this represent the virtue of temperance. 

This is my story.

I am a recovering alcoholic and abuser of prescription medications.  That's a fairly common thing for people who suffer from mental illness.  It's referred to as a dual diagnosis.  I haven't had an alcoholic beverage since the fall of 1984.  For that, just as I did to stop smoking, I went cold turkey.  The medication, on the other hand, didn't get under control until I overdosed on Xanax two years later. I spent a month in the Behavioral Health unit of the hospital being gradually detoxed. 

So I completely understand the concept of temperance.  I have been practicing it for over 30 years.  I have never revealed that to anyone (shhh!)

Thanks to si_b for hosting Mono Monday this month.  I'll be back in August.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.