Phew What a Scorcher!

I really dislike the heat and with a minor heart condition I feel I have to stay inside and try and keep as cool as possible. Normally that's not an issue, but today is exceptionally hot and it's already announced that it's the hottest July day in the UK ever at 38.1C in Cambridge and might yet break the hottest ever UK day of 38.5C. 

This morning I went out early to the hides at Sculthorpe Moor, a walk sheltered by trees. Even the birds were hiding today, but I did get a photo of this damselfly and some ducks on the water. I then collected some sample tiles I ordered, which I think might be suitable (and delighted in the air con in the car!). This afternoon I have done...... absolutely nothing!

All my cooling tricks are now in use: closing curtains, opening windows and doors in the morning and evening, using the 'Chillmax' gel insert for my pillow, using my Dyson fan at times, keeping chilled Sodastream fizzy water in the fridge and wearing my 'cool snap ice towel'. It's so much easier to warm up than it is to cool down!   (Oh, and of course there's ice cream and lollies!!!)

Keep cool out there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.